Not Quite Dead …

First of all

Hello. I’m still here. Or rather, I have now returned.

What a set of absolute saints you are for still following me after I dropped off the internet for such a long time! I’m looking forward to catching up on everyone’s blogs – I’ve thought about you while I’ve been absent, wondering how you’re all getting on with your writing.

me wondering

me wondering

So where have I been?

For the past two years I’ve been dealing with depression, chronic fatigue, and a stressful work life (I’m sure you can imagine how stressful it is juggling work when you’re ill – many of you probably know from experience). Suffice it to say that I didn’t have a lot of energy leftover for writing and talking about myself.

What I have been doing is an awful lot of writing, reading, and falling deep into the thrilling but rage-filled hole of social justice. I now work as a Study Support Assistant to students with disabilities and learning difficulties, and it’s one of the most brilliant, inspiring and rewarding things I’ve ever done.

I’ve also been drawing!

tumblr_inline_nwydq9QoHQ1skzyrv_500

What next?

I’ve also started working as an editor for a good friend who writes and draws comics. She’s also called Sarah, and she’s mind-bendingly talented. We’ve known one another since school and it’s so much fun to finally be able to work together on a Real Grown Up Project with her.

Over the past two weeks I’ve been marketing her self-published comic Strip. Strip is currently shortlisted for ‘Best Comic’ in the British Comic Awards 2015. It’s been a lot of fun going back to marketing and PR for a project that I really believe in.

coverstrip0005strip0009strip0038

Also, as I mentioned, I’m editing her next project. Deeds Not Words is an upcoming graphic novel illustrated by Sarah and written by her good friend Howard Hardiman. It’s about a disabled young woman in Edwardian London, who proves that young women – and disabled, working class young women at that – should not be underestimated. The project is on kickstarter, so please do take a look if that sounds like your jam.

e12fbfb84b982edd7a44a391d6c4cdf1_original fb4f0f46e01b2af37f72f9dd85a2e0e1_original

And now, you

Please do comment and let me know how you’re getting on and what you’ve been up to!

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

2 comments

  1. Welcome back stranger! Good to see you back and hope things are better for you. Well, I released a horror comedy in March. Sales are a bit shoddy but have had some really good reviews for it. I have half-planned an alternate universe companion story for it which I might write next year.

    At the moment though, I’m working on a crime comedy about a detective who retires to a sleepy Cornish village. After about two year of living there, he ends up the only human. Ghosts from the village’s history have inexplicably popped up and carried on life as normal and leaving him the only human. I have a Roman naval officer, an Iron Age Warrior Queen, the world’s worst Elizabethan poet, a medieval monk, a pirate crew and many more. Must say I am having a lot of fun with it. Not sure where my desire to write daft and quirky has come from seeing as most of my older stuff is a lot more serious and dark, but there you go.

  2. Nice to hear from you again. Glad you’re feeling better, sounds like you went through a lot, that’s great that all these positive things are happening for you now. I am happy to say that I finally have a few steady writing jobs each month and things are starting to happen for me, although of course I still have a long way to go. Welcome back and best of luck to you.

Let's chat

