Little Known and Small Stones

Until I moved away for university at twenty, I had always lived in the same house. It’s an average house in a very small town, and my childhood bedroom looked out from the edge of an average middle-class estate to the farms and fields of average midlands countryside.

This year, my mother is finally moving out of the house that I grew up in. Part of me is sad, but I have been taking my leave from that house in little bits and pieces for over seven years. I still love it and find it a very restful and soporific place, but I won’t miss it in the same way I would have years ago.

booniescover

I haven’t mentioned it, but the cover image I used for Humping the Boonies  was a photo I took from that bedroom window when we had a severe frost two or three years ago. Today I was reminded of small stones, a mindfulness-in-writing project, in which people are encouraged to think and focus carefully on a feeling or sensation each day, and write it down. I encourage everyone to have a go at their January Mindful Writing Challenge.

I doubt I’ll get one in every day (after all, I already missed a week!) but I think it’s useful to think about.

first-day-of-school

 

Childhood Home

I will miss this view;

frosted tops of trees, and the purr

of snuggling doves

If you write one, please do share your own small stones.

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

4 comments

  1. I recently looked into mindful writing for personal reasons and I think I might give this a go. Aside from being therapeutic, I can imagine that it is probably good for developing descriptive writing skills.

    Happy New Year Sarah!

    • I agree, I think it’s probably really useful for developing a particular kind of writing. I’ve been very bad at making myself take a moment to do it so far, but from tomorrow I’m going to try harder to put aside a little time.

      Happy New Year 🙂

  2. Pingback: Imagine Meeting Me | a slice of imagination

  3. Pingback: Throwing Stones | a slice of imagination

Let's chat

