A few words on National Poetry Day

pigeon1

It’s the first National Poetry Day I’m really aware of.  Poetry is something I’ve never taken much notice of until recently, when I started writing it over the summer. Since that I’ve been making a concerted effort to actually read some poetry, which I’m enjoying a lot more than I ever expected.

The theme of NPD this year is ‘water, water everywhere’. Luckily I seem to write about water (and, particularly, the ocean) an awful lot, so I’ve got just the thing to share! This piece was part of the set I performed last week at Stirred Poetry.

I realise I never posted about how that went. It went well! I suppose I don’t have much more to say than that. It was a lovely night, I met some interesting new people and had some fantastic, supportive feedback on my work. I’ve been asked to read again for their next event, which is celebrating Stirred Poetry’s third birthday on Monday October 14th. I will definitely post more about that next week.

For now, I hope you enjoy this poem. It’s fairly light-hearted, but it was fun to write and read!

 

The Future of the Ocean

Run me a bath right into the ocean 

with bubbles as high as mountains.

Dolphins and Orcas will skim

between my toes; shoals

of tuna nibble at the dry skin.

I’ll wrap myself in a kelp forest:

loose strands, detached

from their ocean floor anchors.

The reef will score my skin, excoriate

until I’m soft as a sandbank.

The waves will beat

against my shoulders, which loom

from the water like the Gibraltar Rock,

massaging my tired muscles.

I’ll stretch out:

lie back in the Doldrums,

in the calm,

and sleep.

The delicious Becca Audra Smith and I did some writing on Monday, and she has shared some of her writing on her blog today.

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the shout out hun 😀

  2. Pingback: How to demolish… | beccaaudra

Let's chat

