Losing and finding

sglperform

My first proper poetry performance

Tonight I read at Stirred Poetry for the second time. It’s my first time reading as an invited guest at a spoken word night, and I’m oddly calm about it. By the time it’s my time to step on stage I’ll be sweating and shaking, but I feel very positive about the work I’ve done over the past few weeks.

Lost Things

The theme tonight is ‘lost things’ and I’ve structured most of my poems around the idea of things lost, found and gained. That said, they’re all totally different – in theme, style and subject matter. Some of them are very personal while some are much more abstract.

It’s been quite a challenge, to prepare a set more or less from scratch in just three weeks. Poetry is still so new to me that, unlike most guests that are asked to read at Stirred, I don’t have a back catalogue of work to read from, so almost all the poems I’ll be reading tomorrow have been written specifically for the event. In a way, I feel quite proud of that, as if I’m giving them something unique. I doubt I would have been able to come up with much for a faceless event, but with Stirred I feel that I already know who I’m writing for.

Even though I don’t know that many of the performers or audience members, the nature of the event draws together a crowd of similar interests, so I have the comfort that my work will hopefully reach at least someone there. And, more importantly in terms of the act of writing, Iย do know some of the people who will be there, in particular the organisers. Anna Percy and Becca Audra Smith are both incredibly talented poets, and to feel as if I’m writing just for them (even if it’s not quite true) is both flattering and inspiring. It feels a little like I’m Shakespeare writing a play for the queen. But only a little, because that’s ridiculous.

Performance

I still don’t have great confidence in my performance but I’ve been told by others that my stage presence is tolerable, which is a relief. After tonight, now that I’ll have had a decent amount of practice, I’m going to start recording my poems. If they sound tolerable, I might even put them online.

It’s funny to think that it was the equivalent of the bet that even got me to write a poem in the first place, for the Warm World event that Stirred held in July. I’ve taken so much joy and inspiration from reading and writing poetry in the last two months; it seems impossible that I never considered before that I might be able to do this.

My set

Here’s an extract of what I’ll be reading later. ย With any luck I’ll have enough poems to put together a chapbook soon and you can read it all ;D

My claws

scratch away the dent of your throat

remove the peel and pith, and

separate the stranded sinew.

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

5 comments

  1. Cat Lumb

    Good Luck doll! I’m sure you’ll do a fab job! (Hope you’re feeling better too!). z

  2. You were utterly ace by the way ๐Ÿ˜€

Let's chat

