Salt :: Planning

I intended to post this on Friday, but apparently plotting a novel is hard?

Planning

I’ve decided to spend July and August writing a young adult novel that has been growing in my mind for a while. The last few days have involved some intense work to try and pin down the plot and main themes etc, which has been hard work, but a really interesting process. I don’t tend to plot novels very much before I start and, after my experience of NaNoWrimo last year especially, I’ve realised that it’s about time I learned how to do it. I’ve decided to blog weekly about my progress and hopefully gain some insight into the way I go about writing a novel.

This post has been rolling over every month since February, when I originally intended to start, so you had all better wish me luck – not to mention get your pointy sticks ready so that I don’t fall off the writing wagon again! To help me keep going, in addition to blogging, I’ve deliberately let this coincide with Camp NaNo which kicks off on Monday. So, tonight will be spent planning and filling out files in Scrivener, then tomorrow will begin the mad dash!

Camp NaNo

It’s like NaNoWriMo Lite, and runs in July. I’ve set up a sponsorship page to help raise money for The Office of Letters and Light, who organise both NaNo and Camp NaNo in addition to a bunch of other projects to get people writing. If you have a moment or a spare couple of quid/bucks, check it out. To be clear, I don’t get any of that money. You’re sponsoring me to write my novel, with the money going to the NaNo organisers 🙂 One last thing before I actually tell you what my novel is about. Any other Wrimos can find my Camp NaNo page right here!

The Book

The story is speculative fiction, so while it seems to have elements of fantasy/sci-fi, it’s set in the future from our world.

It centres around a girl called Salt, who is an engineer in a city in the mountains where she lives with her tribe.

Just picture it a little like this:

I’m planning to post every Friday (ish) about how I’m getting on. Wish me luck!

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

Let's chat

