Out of Hiding

Lately I keep starting posts, then abandoning or scrapping them before I get around to posting anything. I’ve barely written at all since the new year, and when I do it remains unfinished and uninspired. Things are turning around a bit lately, but for those curious about what I’ve been up to in the past few months, read on:

A quick recap

Over Christmas and the start of the new year I suffered from some depression/anxiety issues. In April I left my full time job and spent six weeks calming down, getting my head back to normal and volunteering in a few places. In June I started a new job, working for Travelling Man in Manchester.

I’ve also been studying some MA units, and I’m hoping to go on and study full time from September so I can complete my postgraduate degree in Creative Writing. I realised how much I missed learning, not to mention having some deadlines and structure to my time.

The next stage, hopefully, will be finally starting work on my next novel in July. Fingers crossed on that front. I’ve been trying to start work on it since February, so I’m not going to promise or hold my breath, just try to relax and let it find me rather than stressing out.

And for now?

Well, I’m going to start small, by finishing some of these posts and trying to take part in Wednesday Write-in once more. The whole reason I started that was to give myself some inspiration each week, and keep writing even when I was struggling to find much time. I’ve let it pass me by for almost six months now, so I feel it’s time for a kick in the rear!

I’ve started running some creative writing workshops recently too, and at the latest one we experimented with some found poetry. Later this week I’ll post some of the things I came up with.

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

4 comments

  1. Good to see you back. It’s never easy going back into full time education as a mature student (I know, I did it myself) but it is ultimately satisfying. Very best of luck and looking forward to seeing more posts from you.

    • You’re very right, but on the other hand, I think I’ve got most of the difficult parts out of the way already and I’m really looking forwards to the remaining units. I also think that taking a couple of years’ break has given me the distance and maturity to make the most of studying now. I hope!

      And thank you πŸ™‚ I think the longer I went without posting or writing, the harder it’s been to get back into it, but now that I have, I’m excited about doing more. Fingers crossed…

  2. Good luck with everything. It’s great to see you back at CAKE. πŸ™‚

Let's chat

