It’s a bit dramatic

I’ve been undertaking a CPD course over the summer at my old university. It’s called Scriptwriting in Practice, and it’s being run in conjunction with Northwest Playwrights, and I’m really enjoying it. The ultimate aim of the course is for us to produce a 45 minute script, either for TV, stage, radio or film. I picked stage, because I’ve never done it before and thought it would make an interesting challenge.

Speaking to an old teacher about the process, she encouraged me to have a go at producing the play myself once it’s finished. She did this herself for the first time this year and knows several others who’ve done the same, and assures me it’s not quite as terrifying as it sounds! (almost, but not quite)

My first reaction was to panic and shout, I could never do that! But why not? I work in marketing so I know how to market the show – the writing will already be done – the terrifying part for me is getting hold of a director and actors, and somehow making it financially feasible. Putting it on somewhere cheap like Manchester’s Three Minute Theatre, or even at Nexus Art Café where I distribute CAKE.shortandsweet and hold the writers’ circle, could prove really doable. The play involves pretty minimal staging and would function on a small stage.

Does anyone have experience in any of this? And for those in Manchester – would you come to see my play? 😀

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

6 comments

  1. Definately. Go for it Sarah. There are lots of venues in City Centre Manchester who let out rooms for drama stuff for free and there are lots of directors and actors around. You might have to offer profit share though unless you get people who want to do it just for the experience.

    And as for asking if people will come and see it before you decide to do it, have confidence in yourself. You are a fab writer. Put your work out there and say ‘here it is’ and people will come and see it. helen

    • Helen, thank you for your advice. I’ve thought about profit share – though I don’t know much about it yet, will have to learn all this stuff!

      I’m definitely going to do it, as soon as I have the play in some kind of performable state. The main reason for sounding out interest is to put it in people’s heads and let them know it’s coming – but mostly so that my friends will nag me to do it, and I won’t be able to keep putting it off! 🙂

  2. The Fiction Stroker

    The Fringe market is thriving in Manchester – its a good way of marketing your wares in the framework of an established festival. The Lass O’Gowrie on Charles Street was recently seeking performances that may want to use its function room..

  3. I am very good friends with a girl who produces plays down here in Bournemouth, as well as a playwright. Depending on the the size of the production it seems to be the producer that does all of the hard work (well, the unfun hard work), so if you are prepared to do that part of it, I think that finding a director and actors are the easier tasks.

    It’s definitely a lot of fun and seeing the words that you’ve written being read by actors is very exciting!

    I’ve thought about doing it myself actually, but I have the same reservations as you! It’s a big task to undertake but I think that the results would definitely be worth it.

    • I think that as long as I had a little guidance, ie advice from people who’ve already tried it, I could probably muddle through okay. If nothing else I think it would teach me an awful lot about my own writing!

      In that case we should both give it a try. My course finishes in September (or at least that’s when my final deadline is) so after that I’ll come up with a final draft and see if anywhere is up for hosting it!

Let's chat

