To self-publish or not?

Two nights ago I had a dream of rescuing a book from drowning, then giving it CPR. Looking back now, I wonder if my mind is trying to tell me something.

I have this vague plan of redrafting a novel I wrote over the summer break at uni a couple of years ago, and attempting to self-publish it. The poor thing has been languishing on my hard drive ever since its brief publication on my livejournal at the time, and I really feel I owe it to the characters to bring it out, shake the dust off, and start showing it off to people.

Self-publishing both intrigues, intimidates, and horrifies me. I think it provides a fantastic platform for good writers to receive the acclaim and the rewards from their writing that they deserve. It allows them full control over what their book looks and sounds like, and how it’s presented to the world. The problem with this is that it also allows terrible writers the same.

I’m a snob about books. I always have been, and I suspect I always will be. I try to crush the urge to shout down bad books as much as possible, mostly for fear of offending people (which I have done, many times). The full-body cringe I experience when I overhear in public people talking about a truly horrendous book is excruciating, but I resist the urge to turn around and tell them exactly what’s wrong with their life choices. Everyone’s taste is different.

Anyway, I’m off the subject. I really want to put this book out there and start showing off my writing. But I know a lot of people avoid self-published novels for the reasons listed above, and I’m scared of putting it out there and everyone hating it. And then the final reason is that I’m just lazy and it would be brilliant if someone would just do the whole thing for me. But I’ve been trying to teach myself to be more driven lately, especially when it comes to writing. Perhaps this could form my graduating exam in self-discipline.

About sarahgracelogan

Sarah Grace is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet, because any form of procrastination from actual writing is always attractive to the serious author of refined taste. When not distracted by laser pens, Sarah Grace writes novels, short stories and flash fiction, poetry, stage scripts and screenplays. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester. You can find more details about her ongoing projects, not to mention a selection of free stories up for grabs right here on her blog. https://sarahgracelogan.wordpress.com/about/ She also likes to talk about theatre, film, books, photography, and especially games and other things that involve collaborative storytelling. Sarah Grace likes feedback, in whatever form it comes.

One comment

  1. ¿Qué pasa, sólo quería decir, amado blog. Fue inspirador útiles.
    Mantener en publicar!

Let's chat

